On the lead up to the 2014 Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12-Hour the crew at MotorActive were predicting that it was going to be a cracker of race. Wow! How little did we know it would exceed our wildest expectations! First and foremost, MotorActive/Liqui-Moly would like to congratulate Craig Lowndes, Mika Salo, John Bowe, Peter Edwards along with the crew from the #88 Il Bello Rosso/Maranello Motorsport Ferrari F458 on their sensational win! Well done guys.


Liqui-Moly is particularly happy for John Bowe; long term brand ambassador and ardent supporter of Liqui-Moly’s range of automotive lubricants, additives and service products. As well as Maranello Motorsport who relied exclusively on Liqui-Moly engine and transmission oils to give their Ferrari the speed and endurance to beat out an extremely high-quality field.


“I’m absolutely stoked,” said John Bowe after their victory. “We had all right ingredients; a good group of drivers, great preparation and I’m convinced Liqui-Moly played a major part in the car’s reliability. Just as it has done in my Mustang Sally.”


Well done also to overall runners up; Harold Primat, Thomas Jaeger, Maximilian Buhk in the #84 HTP Mercedes SLS AMG GT3. Along with third place getters; Will Davison, Jack Le Brock, Greg Crick in the #63 Erebus Mercedes SLS AMG GT3. An amazing race one and all.


It was a thoroughly nail-biting, yet very popular win for the scarlet and white Ferrari in a race that featured so many breathtaking elements; a moody, sunrise start, record pace, with Shane Van Gisbergen setting a new lap record of 2:03.85 in the Darrell Lea, McLaren MP4 12C. A record distance of 296 laps, record crowd numbers plus that epic five-way battle between the two international and three Aussie teams over the last half hour. Whew!


MotorActive/Liqui-Moly would also like to congratulate the winners in the other five classes:
Class B: Porsche 997 GT3 Cup of Stephen Grove, Earl Bamber and Ben Barker.
Class C: Lotus Exige Cup R of Tony Alford, Peter Leemhuis and Mark O’Connor.
Class D: Seat Leon Supercopa of Richard Billington, Lewis Scott and Stuart Owers.
Class F: Fiat Abarth 500 of Luke Youlden, Paul Gover, Gregory Hede and Michael Sinclair.
Class I: MARC Focus GTC of Grant Denyer, Adam Gowans, Garry Jacobson and Andrew Miedecke.

Every competitor, every team and every crew member who took part in the 2014 Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12-Hour are to be commended for their efforts in making the event the unequivocal success it was. MotorActive looks forward to seeing everybody back for 2015, where Liqui-Moly will once again be a proud supporter of this great Aussie endurance event. February 06-08 has been locked in for the 2015 Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12-Hour. So highlight the date in your diary and start your preparations!

2014 Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour Results